HomeMaritime LawSOLAS-The International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea

SOLAS-The International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea

What is SOLAS?

The international convention for the safety of life at sea. It was adopted in 1974, 1st November and entry into force 1980, 25 May.
In response to the Titanic Disaster, the first version of the SOLAS convention was adopted 1914, secondly in 1929, thirdly in 1948, and the fourth in 1960. Following SOLAS 60 it was intended to keep convention up to date by periodic amendments but it was too slow to enter into force within a reasonable period of time. For this reason, it was necessary to adopt a new SOLAS convention in 1974.


The main objective of the SOLAS convention is to maintain the minimum standard for the construction, equipment, and operation of ships compatible with their safety.

SOLAS Chapters

Chapter 1

General Provisions

Chapter 2


  1. Structure, Subdivision, Stability, Machinery And Electrical installations
  2. Fire Protection, Fire Detection, and Fire Extinction

Chapter 3

Life-Saving Appliances and Arrangements

Chapter 4

Radio Communications

Chapter 5

Safety Of Navigation

Chapter 6

Carriage Of Cargo

Chapter 7

Carriage Of Dangerous Goods

Chapter 8

Nuclear Ships

Chapter 9

Management For the safe operation of the Ship (This is where the ISM code comes from)

Chapter 10

Safety measures for high-speed crafts

Chapter 11

  1. Special measures to enhance maritime safety
  2. Special measures to enhance maritime security (ISPS code)

Chapter 12

Additional Safety measures for Bulk Carriers

Chapter 13

Verification of compliance

Chapter 14

Safety Measures for ships operating in POLAR water



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular